This morning I went for a run and the wild roses waved their fragrant hello as I went past. Recent rains have greened the ground making trails soft underfoot. When I set my yoga mat outside to stretch my legs I had to select my location carefully within my back yard. One side has a twenty foot stretch of lilacs in riotous bloom and the bees browse and buzz shaking petals down in purple shower. The other side is shady and the mosquitoes hovered waiting for me. The third possibility was sun drenched so I unfurled my mat.

I enjoyed the stillness, the fragrance from the flowers, the lush grass beneath my mat. What a blessing to be surrounded with nature’s abundant beauty. My heart was full of gratitude. Halfway through my Suptapadagusthanasana I heard the chatter and commentary from the squirrel atop our fence.  My dog ramped off the deck, airborne and gave chase. Luckily for me I was lying about a meter from her runway! The squirrel was dispatched, the dog sauntered past and I stood up for Sun Salutations, safe in the knowledge that the heckler was gone.

Oh the bliss of taking your yoga outdoors! I hope you will try it. Enjoy. Namaste

